Age-forgotten ‘Flash Sun’… ‘Basketball star’ in 10 years

‘Flash Sun’ Kim Seon-hyeong (35, Seoul SK)’s time goes backwards. Kim Seon-hyung, who spent a career high season with age-forgetting play, was selected as the best player (MVP) in Korea at the 2022-23 professional basketball regular game ceremony held at the Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas in Gangnam-gu, Seoul on the 30th.

As a result of the reporters’ vote, he received 65 votes out of a total of 109 votes, beating Byun Jun-hyung (43 votes), who led Anyang KGC’s ‘Wire to Wire’ regular game. It is the seventh time in history that an MVP came out of a team that was not the regular first place. Following his first award in the 2012-13 season, when he put SK in first place, he stood tall again as the best star in basketball in 10 years.

Last season’s regular MVP Choi Jun-yong left due to injury, so Kim Seon-hyung took the center of SK’s offensive basketball from the beginning of the season and struggled with Jameel Warney to put the team in third place.

This season, he participated in all 54 games and played an average of 30 minutes and 32 seconds, recording 16.3 points (3rd in Korea), 6.8 assists (1st overall), and 2.7 rebounds (29th in Korea). In particular, while SK continued to run 17 wins and 1 loss, including 9 wins in the last 18 games, it flew with 18.3 points, 8.4 assists, and 2.9 rebounds. In the case of points and assists, it is Kim Seon-hyung’s personal best record, which has digested 12 seasons.

Kim Seon-hyung said, “I was seriously injured at a time when people were talking about my prime, so I thought my prime would never come again. But at this age, he reached his prime, which surprised me. I think my glory days are now.”

The foreign MVP also went to SK Warney, who received 66 votes. This is the third consecutive award for two years in a row. Warney beat Omari Spellman (KGC), who received 41 votes.

The Rookie of the Year Award was won by Ronjay Avarientos (Ulsan Hyundai Mobis), who received 101 votes. It is the first time in 26 years of KBL that a foreign player has won the Rookie of the Year award. Avarientos played an average of 29 minutes and 11 seconds in 51 games, averaging 13.6 points, 2.7 3-point shots, 4.8 assists, and 2.9 rebounds, forming an axis of the Hyundai Mobis guard line. Among the 8 Filipino quotas, which were first introduced on the domestic stage, they not only performed outstandingly, but also overwhelmed the native rookies. 바카라

The Director Award was given to Kim Sang-sik, who returned to the professional stage after 8 years and directed KGC’s regular 1st place.

In the top 5, Kim Seon-hyung, Byun Jun-hyung, Warney, and Spellman, who competed for MVP at home and abroad, were added to Jeon Seong-hyun (Goyang Carrot), who set a new record for making 3-point shots in 76 consecutive games. The best defense award was won by Moon Seong-gon (KGC) for 4 consecutive years, showing off the aspect of a KBL defense specialist. Heo Woong (Jeonju KCC) received the Popularity Award for 4 consecutive years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *